Huskies Official Sponsor

Boys Varsity Baseball · Boys Varsity Baseball beats St. Paul Central 6 – 5

5 St. Paul Central
W 6 St. Anthony Village High School
Away   Home
Away Home
St. Paul Central vs St. Anthony Village High School
5 6
1 -   3
2 1   -
3 4   2
4 -   1
5 -   -
6 -   -
7 -   -
R 5   6
H 4   5
E 1   1

On perhaps the nicest night for baseball we’ve seen in a while, the Huskies pulled out all the stops to defeat St. Paul Central tonight 6-5 at Palm Field.

The Huskies got runners going early, using walks to get runners aboard. Senior Lucas Roessler-Caram drew a one-out walk in the bottom of the first, and Senior Sully Jahnke singled to advance Roessler-Caram to second. Senior Nick Zezulka walked to load the bases. After a strikeout, Senior Paul Werni, Senior Nick Fredrikson, and Senior Nolan Wolf all walked to bring in runs, and St. Anthony took a 3-0 lead.

But the Minutemen raced back by the third to take a 5-3 lead. In the bottom of the third, the Huskies pulled some magic to tie it up. Werni led off with a walk, and moved to second when Fredrikson laid down a perfect bunt single. Wolf then sacrificed to move the runners to second and third, and then Senior Jack Van Patter pulled a sacrifice squeeze that ended up scoring two runs to tie the game at five.

In the bottom of the fourth, Jahnke led off with a single, and Zezulka followed him with a one out double that was crushed to the wall in right center, scoring Jahnke in what would be the game winning run.

Van Patter came on to pitch in the third and earned the win on the day, knocking 6 strikeouts and only 2 walks in relief of the starter Jahnke, who went 2 1/3 innings and only allowed 1 hit. But Jahnke was great at the plate, going 3-for-4 with three runs.

Before the game, the Huskies welcomed back members of the 2008 State Champion team for a reception and barbecue, and highlights of their run were played on a video after the game.

The Huskies move on to Delano’s Wood Bat tournament this weekend, opening with a game against Orono on Thursday at Delano’s Municipal Stadium at 7:00 pm.